Catching up: Salt Lake City

We fell off the blog map for a little bit there, but we are jumping back on track.

I was trying to think of where we left off, and I believe it was somewhere around Utah. We spent a few days in early May in Salt Lake City Utah at the National Green Building Conference and Expo. I personally like going to all of these events because they are a perfect way to see what’s happening in the green building market in each region and to experience the city first hand.

Excited to be in Utah

I hadn’t spent a lot of time in Salt Lake, or even researched much of their green building market. When I got there I immediately knew I wanted to spend some time exploring the city. I was excited to see what it had to offer. There were 2 things that were immediately striking. The crisp mountain air, and the Rockies. The mountains towering over downtown were stunning. It was a welcome reminder that our society remains immersed within nature, not the other way around.

With all of the building and green initiatives centered in Salt Lake, I would have expected to see a higher turnout at the show.

We learned that the area had experienced a period of growth that The Downtown SLC Alliance describes  as the “downtown boom” from 1990 through 2002. I spent some time talking to locals of the area and they all remarked on the dramatic change the city has experienced. Out of all the development that has occurred, the rail system really caught my attention.

Trax: from Utah.edu

In order to manage the visitors of the 2002 Winter Olympics, the city installed the public rail system that travels throughout the downtown area. There have been so many public transportation projects that have been shut down since the economy has been struggling, when it seems that these are the types of projects that can benefit business within the city and state along with the citizens and our planet.

I want to keep chatting but I need to wrap up. Salt lake: a great city. I went for a run every day. I wanted to soak in the crisp mountain air and see as much of the city as possible.

Another highlight was that we were able to bring along the newest member of our team, Tom Ramus. (He is in the picture on the far left) He spent some time with us in San Diego to learn the intricacies of the PV Solar Shutter. Before he headed back to Chicago to get to work he was able to help us out at the show.

The show turned out to be a quality over quantity situation for us. We had a great time at the show, and met some great people.

My personal highlight:  Salt Lake showed me that the ‘retro fit’ for the rail line within a city is not only feasible but can be extremely successful.

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 ways in 30 days, Conservation, Energy Efficiency, NAHB, Recycled Materials, Renewable Energy, Responsible Materials, Solar, Weatherization, Window Coverings

Leave a Reply

