3: Saddle Up

I just used my gasbuddy app. and I realized when I got excited about $4.09 a gallon that something was wrong. I wasn’t expecting it to be under $4.10, what a treat! Regardless, this just gave me that little extra incentive I needed to finish fixing up my single speed commuter. I had stolen a bunch of parts from it for another bike, so it was left in a corner, minus the brakes or cables, tires or front wheel. It looked pretty sad. So i’m going to spend the afternoon getting in back in riding condition.

This could take a while. But it will be worth it.

I was up in LA at a USGBC event, and listened to Eric Corey Freed deliver a rather humorous presentation about our dependencies, the environment and what we choose to do about it. It was mentioned that no matter how many solar panels we put up we will remain addicted to oil.

I need to quit being a baby about it and to stop taking my car on short trips. I love mountain biking, but it’s always hard to make bike commuting a regular part of my day. So it’s time I just get riding. I’m sure the warm spring days will help my attitude about the whole thing. It will be fun.

I just signed up at peopleforbikes.org and they spout some pretty cool info for you. A blurb caught my eye that said, “3 hours of riding per week reduces the risk of heart disease and stroke by %50”. What a bonus. And, “one pound of CO2 pollution cut for every one mile peddled.” Bam, that’s enough for me right there. Cutting back greenhouses and improving your personal health. Awesome. Thats a win-win-win. You win, the Earth wins, and bike shops win. I am an advocate for small business, so I’m looking for a shop around my area here in San Diego. If I’m pulling for personal health and environmental advocacy, what better business to support than a bike shop?

Back in Delaware, Ohio I was a devoted customer to Breakaway Cycling. They have a cool shop with a really helpful staff. When I work on my bike, I generally make it worse, so it’s nice to have some people around that know what they’re doing. And they don’t scowl at you because you aren’t riding the new Superfly 29er (or something like that) and are happy to facilitate any riders needs. There can be a certain stuffy stigma around biking communities. Don’t let this deter you, it’s not everywhere. There are a ton of great people out there that would love to get more people into cycling.  The right place will help you figure out the whole mess. Little did Breakaway know, they would be the facilitating my personal fitness and environmental initiatives.

Or wait, maybe they did…

I found some interesting links from breakaway’s website. A large part of the cycling movement is the beautification element. Simply put, bikes and people work in harmony. They create a clean, quiet, comfortable, healthy atmosphere in which we directly interact. It’s a pretty cool way of looking at things. Well… I’ve got a lot of work to do. Wish me luck.

-Dan Conroy

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 ways in 30 days, Buy Local, Carbon Footprint, Conservation, Department of Energy, Energy Efficiency, Environment, Outdoor Adventure, Renewable Energy, Uncategorized, USGBC

Leave a Reply

